I need help dressing myself.

Standard

DAVE, if you are reading this STOP NOW!  This one is NOT for you!  It’s about my birthday dress (nooooo, not my birthday suit – that’s for later…) so shut down my blog now or you’ll ruin the surprise and consequently my birthday, and all other birthdays from now until forever!

 

Now that is out of the way, let’s get down to business. Firstly, it is obvious that I have not been on the blog for a few weeks.  There is a reason, but I am not going to tell you.  Yet.  Suck it up, bitches, nothing like a little suspense to keep things alive.

 

Things that have been exciting in my life:

1.  T did a shit in the bath AGAIN!

Yes. That really is T’s poo.

 

2.  We have been approved to move into a new rental property next week.  Not looking forward to all the packing and moving, especially with a needy 9 month old under foot, but am looking forward to lounging by the sparkling blue pool all summer long!  Will take lots of jealousy pics next week when we get the keys.  Here’s hoping I won’t be deprived of internet for too long during the changeover.  Internet is like oxygen to us peeps.

 

3.  I failed at the 20 day Challenge.  My house is no more clean or organised than it was before.  Just call me The Failure From Australia.  I did manage to finally clean my kitchen.  Kinda took over a week to get to the bottom of it.

Sort of went like this –

Clean 2 cupboards – T cries – clean top of microwave – T cries – clean half a window – T cries – nap time (T and me) – can’t be arsed doing any more for a bit – clean one more cupboard – T cries.  You get the picture.  Continue each and every day with all the other household bullshit in between.  Finally though, I did get to the end.

Remember the before photo?

And now for the AFTER. Notice the cat bowls? No we do not have a new fur baby, just were minding a friends kitty for a few days.

See him? He was helping.

 

In all honesty, I have managed to do a little bit of the challenge tasks here and there and am loving the binder I made from all of the Organised Housewife’s printables.  I SWEAR I am going to try and be a better housewife than I currently am in the new house.  SWEAR it.  Whenever a room gets a little messy, I can just say, ‘what does the OH tell me I need to do to get this room ultra clean and organised?  Let me just flip to the right page in the binder’, and hey presto!  A detailed to-do-list perfectly laid out to help the procrastinator in me accomplish any task I set out to achieve.

 

So it is my birthday tomorrow.  35.  Fuck.  Half way to 70.

 

D is taking me out somewhere spesh for dinner and it is a surprise.  It’s apparently romantic with super yummy food, that you actually order from a MENU and they bring it to your TABLE and shit like that!  Not a buffet in sight!  D says I have to use cutlery.  Must be fancy 😉  We haven’t been out on a date since forever, and with no kids!  can you tell I am just a tad excited?

I was even allowed to go and buy a new dress.  Here lies my problem.  I need your help on how to accessorise said dress.  I have 2 options.  I can either dress it up with heels or try to dress it down with flats.  I have silver accessories or should I wear none?  Help me decide how to wear it.  Please note that I’m not wearing a bra in these photos so the boobs are a bit saggy and will be held up by a perky strapless tomorrow night.  Also image me with a new haircut and colour which I am treating myself to tomorrow.  Also imagine freshly manicured fingers and toes.  I know, I’m getting back my mojo!!

 

Option 1 – with flats


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That frontal makes me look incredibly frumpy!  I’m wearing the silver bangles and earrings (which you can’t see) with this option.

 

Option 2 – with heels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not sure if it would be a bit too much to wear the bangles and earrings with this option.  I’m not really a fan of the dipping hemline look, but I am a fan of this dress.  I even thought of cutting the back bit off, but then I thought I would probably stuff it, so common sense prevailed and the hem remains intact.

 

Right peeps I need opinions.  What do you love, what do you hate?  Be brutally honest if you like.  I can take it.  Do you have any other ideas for accessories?  Bear in mind that cornflower blue is not the easiest colour to match.  Remember, time is of the essence.  The big day is tomorrow.  Help me look beautiful on my 35th birthday.  This hopeless anti-glamour needs YOU!  Help me make my husband hot for his wife 😉

 

Totes promise to take a photo with the final outfit all dolled up tomorrow night.  I’ll even put my face in it.  Maybe, D’s face too!

5 responses »

  1. I say glam the shit out of that outfit and go the heels and accesories and the whole hog. That way you will be dresse to match however posh the place is that he takes you to. Also it is your birthday and it has been ages since you got to do anything like this so I say “GO GLAM!”

  2. I like Option 2 with the heels!! But only if they’re comfy.. Also add me to the Failure from Australia hahaha half the emails ended in my junk folder and that’s my excuse ;o)

    How long do you think T will be a bath pooper for ? You poor thing.. I’d probably start moving him into the shower soon!

    • Those heels are actually surprisingly the most comfy I own. I think because they are so supportive.

      I’m so glad I am not the only one who sucks at being a ‘good housewife’. Lucky I am good in other ways 😉

      The bath poos sure do suck, but at least they are a good consistency. They stay where he grunts them out. No floaters.

Leave a Reply

