T Bear’s ‘Where is the Green Sheep?’ themed first birthday party!

Standard

When I say I themed the party, what I really mean is I made a ‘Where is the Green Sheep?’ cake and photocopied and laminated pictures of the sheep from the book and stuck them around the place.  That’s it really.  If I was really awesome and didn’t actually have a 1 year old to look after, I probably could have done a better job.  Also, if I didn’t leave organising the party to the last minute I might have been able to make it look all pretty and matching and shit like other mummy bloggers can.  I curse all the domestic goddesses with your perfectly themed parties and shiny, sparkling, smiling, clean children!

Aside from my lacklustre party theme planning, I must say that you don’t need to have a picture perfect party for it be a huge success.  Once I pulled my finger out of my arse and decided on what food I needed to prepare and set the wheels in motion, it all turned out surprisingly well.

I worked solidly for 3 days to prepare all the food.  Solidly of course means in between doing all-things-mum and many preg trips to the toilet.  So a few late nights cake decorating and preparing and freezing stuff all paid off.  I even managed to have a shower, put on make up and get everything ready before the first guest arrived (with minutes to spare), so I wasn’t running around like a sweaty, crazy, preggo during the party.  Goodness me, I actually was able to relax and enjoy the company and the fruits of my labour, and most importantly I was able to watch my little doodle enjoy his very first birthday party.

Of course he won’t remember a damn thing, but thankfully I had my brother there and he was able to help me out by taking pictures and video of the day for me.  Without him, there would be but a few crappy pictures (have I mentioned I hate my camera?  Probably once or twice…) and none with me, as I would always be behind it.  One day I will sit down with T and show him all the pictures and show him how much everyone loves him and came to celebrate his first year with him.

So I guess what you want to see are some pictures.  Or perhaps looking at random peoples photos make you want to shove a pencil up your nose?  If that were true you wouldn’t be here, so I will show them off anyway!

 

The Preperations.

The main party area before people arrived.  See the sheep stuck around on the glass doors?  My mad decorating skills.

The main party area before people arrived. See the sheep stuck around on the glass doors? My mad decorating skills.

K putting his mouth all over all the party honkers, or whatever those annoying as hell things are called.

K putting his mouth all over all the party honkers, or whatever those annoying as hell things are called.  Sorry to anyone who inadvertently put their mouth on K’s slobber.

K and J bored as bat shit, waiting for guests to arrive.

K and J bored as bat shit, waiting for guests to arrive.

The yummy stuff.  Savoury: Zucchini Slice (made by my bff, Cassie), Artichoke Dip and French bread stick,

The yummy stuff.  Savoury: Zucchini Slice (made by my bff, Cassie), Artichoke Dip, Vegetable Fingers and French Bread Stick,  Cheerios and Tomato Sauce (for any American readers out there, here in Australia we call little sausages Cheerios, not breakfast cereal) and Kabana, Cheeses and Crackers.  Sweet:  Fruit, Peanut Butter and Chocolate Balls, Mars Bar Slice, Milky Way and Teddy Bear Cars and of course the cakes (later)…..   D also fired up the BBQ and chucked some snags and onion on.

 

Some Fun Stuff.

T's little cousin Oscar enjoying his first taste of watermelon.

T’s little cousin Oscar enjoying his first taste of watermelon.

T just likes to pull apart his play mat, much to his

T just likes to pull apart his play mat, much to his mum’s dismay.

With his grandparents.

With his grandparents.

T showing Willow how to put the balls in.

T showing Willow how to put the balls in.

Me and T all dirty from face planting in the garden.  Cassie and Kathy in the background.

Me and T all dirty from face planting in the garden. Cassie and Kathy in the background.

Poppy.

Poppy.

Oscar and my brothers wife, Wendy.

Oscar and my brothers wife, Wendy.

K.  Look at me!

K. Look at me!

 

Cake Time!

The Cake!  Da Da Daaaaa!  Not quite as fancy as the one I found on Pinterest but I tried my bestest.  The flowers were originally white and yellow but they absorbed the green food colouring!  The sheep were a pain in my arse and took forever!  Interestingly, the chocolate cake was so delicious all the sheep went uneaten.  Turns out they were pretty fancy and time consuming decorations.  We considered keeping them and sticking some twigs in them, turning them into raindeers for Christmas.

The Cake! Da Da Daaaaa! Not quite as fancy as the one I found on Pinterest but I tried my bestest. The flowers were originally white and yellow but they absorbed the green food colouring. The sheep cupcakes were a pain in my arse and took forever! Interestingly, the chocolate cake was so delicious all the sheep cupcakes went uneaten. Turns out they were pretty fancy and time consuming decorations. We considered keeping them and sticking some twigs in the heads, thus turning them into reindeer for Christmas.

Waiting in anticipation...

Waiting in anticipation…

Birthday boys must wear party hats.  Even if no-one else does.

Birthday boys must wear party hats. Even if no-one else does.

Can you see the green sheep/  Why, he is fast asleep of course!

Can you see the green sheep? Why, he is fast asleep of course!

Happy birthday to you, my dear sweet little man!

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday my dear sweet little man, happy birthday to you!

No idea...  Maybe demonstrating how wide to open your mouth to fit an entire cupcake in.

No idea… Maybe demonstrating how wide to open your mouth to fit an entire cupcake in?

First eat the head.

How to eat a green sheep.  First eat the head.

Then pick off his wool.

Then pick off his wool.

Eat the marshmallows one at a time.

Eat the marshmallows one at a time.

Then eat the hat.

Then eat the hat.

 

The Gifts.

We were completely overwhelmed at the beautiful and generous presents T received.  Party favour bags in the foreground that I made.  They have a green sheep on them because I am that good.

We were completely overwhelmed at the beautiful and generous presents T received. Party favour bags in the foreground that I made. They have a green sheep on them because I am that good.

Won't bore you with all the present opening, just this one.  It was the last gift opened and by far the favourite of the day.  His reaction was beautiful.

Won’t bore you with all the present opening, just this one. It was the last gift opened and by far the favourite of the day. His reaction was beautiful.

T = Oh my, it's a grizzly bear and he is so soft, I want to eat his face off!

T = Oh my, it’s a grizzly bear and he is so soft, I want to eat his face off!

T = I will squeeze him and suck on him and he will be mine forever!

T = I will squeeze him and suck on him and he will be mine forever!

T = I love him so much!  Thanks Aunty Cassie!

T = I love him so much! Thanks Aunty Cassie!

 

I was on such a high from how well the party went, that as exhausted as I was, I was unable to get to sleep until the wee hours of the next morning.  D congratulated me on a job well done many times and I have to say i felt ping pong proud of my efforts.  It really was a wonderful day.  I am so glad we decided to have this party and am so thankful that so many of our friends were able to make it right before Christmas.

 

Happy birthday T, Mumma Bear loves you so much x

IMG_5388

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I’m so incredibly proud of you – not just for the party but for being such a super mom. You give me hope for Milo’s party this saturday. I need to start making his robot cupcakes tonight! I’m just doing cupcakes, fondue, and booze ; P Lots of booze.

  2. Awesome party idea, T looks like he had a ball! I might steal your theme, maybe I can con all the kids into playing ‘lets pretend to be the green sheep’…

Leave a Reply

