The very very very shoe-string budget girl nursery.

Standard

*** Disclaimer – This nursery is a random mismatch of new, second hand and home made stuff.  Nothing really matches.  If you want to see a picture perfect nursery where everything is beautiful you won’t find that here because quite frankly, those nurseries cost the Earth.  Even those who are super super crafty and can make shit to match, either spend a fortune on fabrics and things or don’t have 3 other children to run around after while decorating said nursery.

 

OK.  This is it.  I really like what I have created in Hazel’s room.  It’s pretty, it’s colourful and it is functional.  As I have said in my disclaimer – nothing matches.  I wish I had enough money to decorate the nursery of my dreams, but hey if I had that much cashola I wouldn’t have grey hair, wrinkles or Kmart bras.

This nursery was buuuuuudget.  Some things were reused, some super cheap eBay scores, some freebies, some random bits and bobs I found here and there, some gifts, some things I made and a few things were bought new.  A source list will follow the pics.  Keep in mind that we are renting so I was not able to make a crappy room better with a lick of paint.  Why is it landlords would rather you keep their house ugly instead of making it look better for them for free?

I had to also keep in mind that T is going to be moving into this room sometime down the track when both babies are sleeping perfectly and that will allow the big boys to finally have their own bedrooms again.  You have to remember that K and J are entering their teenage angst years where they need their own space to wank in private.  Because this is going to eventually be a shared boy/girl room I couldn’t go too overboard pinky pink pink.  I decided to go with a colour scheme that I can work with for both kids.  I have chosen aqua as a main colour that will tie in for both.  H’s side will be aqua and pink, while T’s side will be aqua and orange.  Gawd, I hope it will work as well as it does in my head!

 

Hold on to your hats – here it is…

Window treatments.  Bunting - Etsy.  Pompoms - left over sprinkle decorations.  Wall stickers - Etsy.  Hanging butterflies - Taco creation.

Window treatments. Bunting – Etsy. Pompoms – left over sprinkle decorations. Wall stickers – Etsy. Hanging butterflies – Taco creation.

Decorated wooden letters - Taco creation.

Decorated wooden letters – Taco creation.

Nursing chair - free from gumtree.  Owl wall art and cube storage unit - Ikea.  Owl lamp - I Love Lights.

Nursing chair – free from gumtree. Owl wall art and cube storage unit – Ikea. Owl lamp – I Love Lights.

$10 cot - eBay

$10 cot – eBay

I prefer not to have noisy flashing cot mobiles but I love this mobile of silk butterflies from Cambodia.  Handed down from Theo.  Give it a spin and the butterflies will dance over sleepy baby, lulling her to sleep.

I prefer not to have noisy flashing cot mobiles but I love this mobile of silk butterflies from Cambodia. Handed down from T. Give it a spin and the butterflies will dance over sleepy baby, lulling her to sleep.

P1090960

Changing colours to mesmerise baby during nappy changes - I Love Lights

Changing colours to mesmerise baby during nappy changes – I Love Lights

Theo's change table - an eBay score.  The table is an odd size - long and narrow, so I could get a mat for it but couldn't find a cover to fit.  I have used a $5 Ikea blanket.

This was T’s change table – an eBay score. The table is an odd size – long and narrow, so I could get a mat for it but couldn’t find a cover to fit. I have used a $5 Ikea blanket.

Wall stickers and butterflies

Wall stickers and butterflies

P1090969

P1090970

This is the only area of the room I have not yet finished.  Dave brought the lotus flower lamp home from his last trip to Cambodia.  All my children have an Oink money box.

This is the only area of the room I have not yet finished. D brought the lotus flower lamp home from his last trip to Cambodia. All my children have an Oink money box.

I am planning on turning this nook into a book nook some time in the future, but for now the giant My Little Pony can live here.  The chair will move out into the lounge room when she is old enough to sit in it.  If we move it out now, the boys will trash it before she gets to use it.

I am planning on turning this nook into a book nook some time in the future, but for now the giant My Little Pony can live here. The chair will move out into the lounge room when she is old enough to sit in it. If we move it out now, the boys will trash it before she gets to use it.  T has a matching one in blues and greens.

I don't waste money of beautiful cot quilts, bumpers and pillows.  My babies just sleep on a sheet.  I traditionally wrap them for the first few weeks then I sleep them in a zip up swaddle and progress to a sleeping bag.  We had a beautiful silk cot quilt made in Cambodia for Theo which he sadly has never even used.

I don’t waste money of beautiful cot quilts, bumpers and pillows. My babies just sleep on a sheet. I traditionally wrap them for the first few weeks then I sleep them in a zip up swaddle and later progress to a sleeping bag. We had a beautiful silk cot quilt made in Cambodia for T, which he sadly has never even used.

 

Okies.

The Owl Lamp and the Butterfly Light.  These are awesome, the lamp especially.  It changes to 16 colours and is operated by remote.  You can set the colour or do colour change.  It has a timer and a sleep function.  It gives of just the perfect amount of light for night feeds and nappy changes.  I have a Giraffe Lamp in T’s room.  I did not want any other night light, these, in my humblest Taco opinion are THE BESTEST.  They are from I Love Lights.  Huge Range.  I highly recommend!

Butterflies.  I bought these from Adairs Kids.  There were 4 sheets of butterflies in 3 sizes which I used to make the dingle dangle butterfly strings.  I just stuck the 3 butterfly sizes together and glued them onto curling ribbon.  I weighed them down with crystal beads.  I used the left over butterflies on the wall, door and her name.  Total cost – Butterflies were $10 and the crystals were $7.

Wall Stickers.  These were a splurge purchase from Cut and Paste Shop on Etsy.  I got these aqua and pink for H’s side of the room and I also have ready to put up some aqua and orange stickers in a more masculine pattern on T’s side of the window when the time comes.

Bunting.  Another Etsy purchase from A Bunting We Will Go.  Beautifully hand made and affordable.  $24 for 12 flags.  Definitely more than $24 worth of work in them I think.

Stuff from Ikea.  The owl wall picture was a gift from my mother for my baby sprinkle.  The cube storage unit was made possible by a very generous present of an Ikea gift card from a beautiful friend.  The pink storage boxes are from Bunnings – they have quite a range of coloured storage boxes for future reference, if you are ever looking for them.  Blanket covering the change table mat and the blanket covering the chair.  Cushions.

Oink Money Box.  We all have these.  D and I have a leopard patterned one,  K has a Millionaire in the Making pig, J has a purple spotty pig, T has a bumble bee and now H has the ladybird.  I love a good theme and I love things that match.  Now when family give Christmas and birthday money I have somewhere to put it.

 

Pig mat – a gift

Sheets – $10 a set from Target

If there is anything else that I have forgotten to list which is of interest, let me know.  Hopefully I’ll finish off that last section soon, but I kind of ran out of time and money 😦

7 responses »

  1. Love it Soph! It looks great. I love that you have thought about how K and J will need their own rooms soon – a mother that considers the masturbation needs of her children is a good one! That cracked me up so much.

  2. hey. your husband reeeally wants you to join reddit. it took my husband a while to convince me, too. i only slightly regret joining. also, cute blog!!
    sincerely,
    another redditor’s wife

Leave a Reply

