Wait.

Standard

Finally the ‘sick’ has left our house, after infecting each one of us in turn.  At the moment we are all relatively healthy and I cling onto every strand of hope that we stay that way.  Having one sick baby is hard enough.  Two sick babies is no joke.  Throw in the mix two sick medium doodles and a husband with a serious case of man flu, while feeling like death yourself, and you’ve got a whole crap sandwich with a side order of barf.

I’d been waiting for the sick to pass so I could catch up on my lost sleep before getting reacquainted with my blog.  An now Blog, and my friends, I am feeling refreshed and you will have to wait no more.

 

The word wait is a fairly common word.  It is used in many contexts.  Wait for me.  Wait for the bus.  Wait at the traffic lights.  Wait for the kettle to boil.  But I have found that lately, especially in recent months, I have used it in excess.

 

Wait! Come back here with that toilet paper!

No T, wait until Mummy is finished on the toilet before flushing it for me.

Yeah and ideally, it’s best to wait until I have stood up before trying to close the lid.  Yep, if it didn’t close the first 10 times you tried, what makes you think it is going to close the next 384 times?  Mum’s body is still in the way, but good on you for being persistent.

T wait!  Don’t unlock the toilet door yet, Mummy isn’t finished!

Wait!  I haven’t put your nappy on yet!  OK, fine be naked for all I care.  (sigh of exasperation)

H, why do you wait until I take you nappy off to wee on your change table?  Go on have a giggle.  Lucky you are so cute.

And now, H, why do you wait until I put a fresh nappy on to poo in it?

Yes H, I can hear you but you have to wait until I finish with T.

Yes T, I can hear you but you have to wait until I finish with H.

Oh my gawd, can you wait until I’m ready to catch you before you launch yourself off the couch onto me?

Sweetheart, I know you are hungry but I can’t feed you and drive at the same time you just have to wait.

Can you wait 5  minutes before your next tantrum?  I need to recuperate.

Minecraft can just wait until you have cleaned that pigsty you call your room (yes, I have become my mother).  And while you’re at it, do your homework!

Look K, you can be a big boy and make your own sandwich, or you can just wait until I am finished nursing H.  Yes I know that I make the best sandwiches, but come on Dude, seriously it’s just two bits of bread with stuff inside.  How are you ever going to be a good a sandwich maker if you never practice.  To quote Adventure Time, ‘sucking at something is the first step toward being sort of good at something.’

Dishes can wait.

Vacuuming can wait.

Sometimes showering has to wait.  Cleanliness isn’t all that important is it?

Sorry D, you have to wait until I hang the nappies out for snoo snoo.

 

Just wait, wait, wait, wait wait.

I am only ONE PERSON!

 

I am trying my darndest to be a patient person and for the most part I think I do pretty well.  I do loose my cool from time to time and then beat myself up for it but I have come to realise that I am doing the best I can and that is good enough.  I love my all my doodles and my corn chip to the moon and back and wouldn’t have life any other way.

fathers day

Leave a Reply

