This is me, but this is not me.

Standard

I’m not quite sure how it happened but I got a little bit fat.

 

Oh yes, that’s right, I remember now, I had 2 babies and I ate a whole heap of cake.  Then I ate chocolate and another cake and then some chocolate cake.  But that is fine, I like cake and I enjoyed eating it but I am not too keen on my new body.

Back in the day, way back when, I was able to eat cake whenever I pleased and kept my svelte figure.  So why not now?  Plain and simple – I’m now OLD (and I had 2 babies, but mostly it’s because I’m old).  The old metabolism just ain’t what it used to be.

Somewhere between going to university, getting married, working, trying to conceive, two more babies and getting old, I lost my ability to eat cake without wearing it on my ass.  And belly.  And thighs.

 

This was me not too long after D and I met.  So about 9 years ago.  I’ll be the first to say it, my body was a rockin.  I was fit, I was strong and looked pretty damn fine in a bikini.  Probably had a lot to do with how much time I spent in the gym.  I guess once I got a boyfriend and a LIFE and a lot more busy, I let the gym slip a bit.  Well, truth be told, I let it slip completely.

With a mini K and a mini J

With a mini K and a mini J.  

 

It is pretty safe to say that I will never look like that again, but now that my body is all mine again, I would like to try and get as close to my former healthy me as I can.

You know how people always say that breastfeeding will help you loose weight?  That may be true, it certainly did when I had K, a million years ago, but that was when I was young.  Now, the years have not been that kind to me and while you do need to eat a few extra calories to make that yummy boob milk for your baby, I think I really was going overboard with the cake.  And brownies.  And cookies.  I hang my head in shame.

 

So here is the plan.  This is operation reclaim my hot bod.  I actually don’t have a real plan except trying to watch what I eat and EXERCISE.  I’ve started counting calories to try and keep my cake habit under control and I WILL MAKE TIME TO EXERCISE.

I’ve started the 30 Day Shred.  The first day nearly killed me.  When Jillian Micheals began with push ups I nearly died but I made it through.  H was propped up on the couch watching me, T joined in and Chum decided that lying in the middle of the floor was the perfect spot.  Yesterday I recovered because every muscle ached, but I did day 2 today and wasn’t even as hard.  Except the crunches.  They were really hard as I had a great big lump of T who thought sitting on my tum was fun.

 

To keep me honest and motivated I am going to show you all me in a bra.  I am mortified by these photos but now that I am showing the world my wobbly bits I will work even hard to make them disappear so I can come back here and post my after photos.

001 collage (1)

 

Blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I’m smiling but only out of embarrassment.

 

I going to aim for the 30 Day Shred 5 times a week, and I am going to try running.  I hate running with a capital H, but as much as I love walking it just doesn’t DO ANYTHING for me any more.  I already have my 2 afternoon walks a week locked in so I am going to attempt the Couch 2 5K during that time so I don’t need to find the extra time to run.  And if I can’t handle it, well I can just walk it.

I’m just dying to feel fit and healthy again and look sexy in underwear.

 

T wants an active Mummy too, so he has been helping me do my workout.

4 responses »

  1. Go Sophie! For the record – I think you look fab as you are now but I know what it’s like to want to look like a better version of yourself 🙂
    In the past 8 months I’ve lost over 9kg by watching what I eat and exercising well – I am under 60kg for the first time since around the start of high school (I can honestly not remember ever being this thin).
    Good luck Sophie – keep us posted!!

    • Well done Nicole, a 9kg loss is amazing!
      Must be time for you to go shopping and splash out some fancy new threads 😉
      I am so looking forward to getting under 60kg, but most of all feeling fit and energetic.

  2. Go Sophie! For the record – I think you look fab as you are now but I know what it’s like to want to look like a better version of yourself 🙂
    In the past 8 months I’ve lost over 9kg by watching what I eat and exercising well – I am under 60kg for the first time since around the start of high school (I can honestly not remember ever being this thin).
    If you have a smart phone – download the app “My Fitness Pal” – it’s a calorie counter and a great way to track how much you are eating and exercising. It’s been a MASSIVE help to me 🙂
    Good luck Sophie – keep us posted!!

Leave a Reply

